Skip to main content
Ron Caragher a finalist for Eddie Robinson Award
Ron Caragher a finalist for Eddie Robinson Award

Nov. 21, 2011

Philadelphia, PA (Sports Network) - Coaches who combined for 14 conference championships this season are among the 20 finalists announced Monday for the 25th Eddie Robinson Award, which honors the national coach of the year in the Football Championship Subdivision. For the second time in five seasons, USD head coach Ron Caragher is among the finalists for the national coach of the year honor in the FCS.

This season Caragher led his Toreros to a 9-2 overall mark and 7-1 Pioneer Football League title that USD shares with Drake. In their head-to-head meeting back on October 15th, the Toreros defeated Drake 31-24. This past Saturday, with a share of the PFL title on the line, the Toreros defeated Jacksonville by the score of 23-14 at Torero Stadium.

This marks the third time in Caragher's career that he has guided the Toreros to an overall mark of 9-2, and the second time he has earned a share of the PFL championship. In his first season back in 2007 his squad finished 9-2, were co-PFL champions, and he was a nominee for the Eddie Robinson Award. Including last year's squad winning four of their final five contests, Caragher has directed the Toreros to 13 wins in their last 16 games.

The winner of the Robinson Award, presented by The Sports Network and sponsored by, will be announced at the national awards banquet on Friday, Jan. 6 in Frisco, Texas - the night before the national championship game. A panel of over 150 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries will select the Robinson Award winner. Voting will reflect only the regular season. The FCS playoffs begin this Saturday.

The 20 Eddie Robinson Award finalists are: Pete Adrian, Norfolk; Rob Ambrose, Towson; Craig Bohl, North Dakota; Watson Brown, Tennessee Tech; Nigel Burton, Portland State; Ron Caragher, San Diego; Andy Coen, Lehigh; Clint Conque, Central Arkansas; Chris Creighton, Drake; Bob Ford, Albany; Willie Fritz, Sam Houston State; Gary Harrell, Howard; Anthony Jones, Alabama A&M; Kevin Kelly, Georgetown; Jeff Monken, Georgia Southern; Tim Murphy, Harvard; Chris Mussman, North Dakota; Robin Pflugrad, Montana; Chuck Priore, Stony Brook; and Bobby Wilder, Old Dominion.



Video Thumbnail USD Athletes Sing "Santa's Coming to Town"
Toreros show their talent out of uniform
Video Thumbnail Basketball: City Championship
Toreros play SDSU Thursday night at 8
Video Thumbnail Football: Week Fourteen
Football preps for second round of playoffs at NDSU
Video Thumbnail Football: NAU From the Sidelines
Toreros win in first round of playoffs at NAU
Video Thumbnail Football: Week Thirteen
Football travels to NAU for the first round of the FCS Playoffs
Video Thumbnail Torero Tuesday
A day to give to Torero Athletics
Video Thumbnail Football: Week Twelve
Toreros gear up for last game of conference play
Video Thumbnail Football: Week Eleven
Toreros prep for game day
Video Thumbnail Torero Timeout with Summer Mason
USD junior women's soccer player takes a timeout during a study break
Video Thumbnail On Saturday We Dominate
Big wins for both USD Football and USD Volleyball Saturday afternoon
Video Thumbnail Torero Timeout with Henry Lander
Men's soccer sophomore Henry Lander takes a Timeout between classes
Video Thumbnail Football: Week Ten
Toreros gear up for home game against Drake
Video Thumbnail Halloween Hoopla
Men's and women's basketball teamed up to host a Halloween event
Video Thumbnail Football: Week Nine
Big day in the weight room for the Toreros
Video Thumbnail Seamus McFadden's Legacy
39 years in review by former players and coaches
Video Thumbnail Seamus Night
Alumni, staff and the San Diego community gathered to celebrate Men's Soccer Head Coach Seamus McFadden
Video Thumbnail Sixth Man Night: The Event
Recap video of the October 12 fundraiser event
Video Thumbnail Women's Basketball: WCC Hoops Tip-Off
Coach Fisher and Maya Hood attend media day in Las Vegas
Video Thumbnail Men's Basketball: New Heights
Men's basketball celebrates the third era of the program
Video Thumbnail Homecoming
Alumni and family gathered together for an eventful Homecoming weekend
Video Thumbnail Torero Timeout with Kristen Gengenbacher
Take a Timeout with the senior setter at her house in South Mission Beach
Video Thumbnail Football: Week Seven
Football preps for this Saturday's Homecoming game
Video Thumbnail Torero Timeout with Jonathan Petersen
USD Football's Petersen strolls through Belmont Park during his bye week
Video Thumbnail USD Basketball: Practice No. 1
Check out what practice looks like for the Torero ballers
Video Thumbnail Football: Week Five
Toreros prep for big game against Dayton
Video Thumbnail Football: FaceTime with Lion's Jamal Agnew
USD Head Coach Dale Lindsey congratulates Torero alum Agnew on his first NFL touchdown
Video Thumbnail Football: Brian Fogarty PFL Classic
From tailgates to touchdowns, we got it all
Video Thumbnail Football: Week Four
Hard work follows these Toreros on and off the field
Video Thumbnail Cross Country: USD Invite
Missed Saturday's race? Don't stress, we have it right here
Video Thumbnail Football: Week Three
Sights and sounds of USD Football at work
Video Thumbnail USD Invite: Take a Lap
Men's and women's cross country host the USD Invite: the only home race for the Toreros
Video Thumbnail Football: Week Two
Football hard at work for their first away game at UC Davis
Video Thumbnail Three Games - One Day
Ole Weekend was one to remember for USD Athletics
Video Thumbnail Football: Week One
Toreros preps for their home opener against Western New Mexico
Video Thumbnail 2017 Football Season Preview
Head Coach Dale Lindsey and Senior Ray Clark discuss upcoming season
Video Thumbnail USD Athletics Highlight Video 2016-17
Don't miss the best highlights from this past year in USD Athletics


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


West Coast Conference USD
Top ^
» «