Skip to main content
Kenny James named USD Football MVP
Kenny James named team MVP

Dec. 3, 2011

At the end-of-the-season USD Football Awards Banquet held today on the campus of USD, sophomore running back Kenny James (San Diego, CA) was tabbed the team's Most Valuable Player. James, a unanimous first team All-PFL pick, ranked second among all FCS players in all-purpose yards (210.3 yards per game) while chipping in with 1,151 rushing yards and 12 touchdowns.

Sophomore defensive end Blake Oliaro (Folsom, CA) was named the team's Defensive MVP while sophomore quarterback Mason Mills (Coronado, CA) received the Offensive MVP award. Oliaro, who was tabbed the PFL Defender of the Year, ranked 4th in the FCS in sacks (1.36) and 10th in tackles for loss (1.77). For the season he finished with 57 tackles (35 solo), 15 sacks (-99 yards), 19.5 tackles for loss (-125), 6 quarterback hurries, 2 fumble recoveries (1 for TD), 1 forced fumble, 1 interception and 1 blocked kick. Mills, an All-PFL second team pick, finished the year with 2,370 passing yards and 22 touchdowns while completing 184-of-298 attempts. He was at his best when the Toreros had their backs up against the wall, leading the Toreros to come-from-behind road wins over Azusa Pacific, Morehead State and Dayton.

Additional awards were handed out to fifteen other Toreros: sophomore wide receiver Mitch Sands (Newport Beach, CA) - Offensive Scout Player of the Year; freshman defensive end Joe Nomellini (Stockton, CA) - Defensive Scout Player of the Year; redshirt freshman safety Troy McClelland (San Diego, CA) - Dr. James B. Orwig Scholar-Athlete of the Year; senior fullback Nick Scudellari (Saratoga, CA) - Kevin Briscoe Special Teams Player of the Year; freshman wide receiver Brandon White (San Jose, CA) - Most Outstanding 1st Year Player; senior tight end Patrick Doyle (Chicago, IL) - Strength Coaches Award for Offense; senior corner Al-Rilwan Adeyemi (Santa Monica, CA) - Strength Coaches Award for Defense; sophomore defensive back Robbie Beathard (San Diego, CA) - Most Improved Defensive Player; senior offensive lineman Shane Kanie (Las Vegas, NV) - Most Improved Offensive Player; senior defensive end Mario Kurn (Encinitas, CA) - Outstanding Lineman Award for Defense; senior offensive center Christian Fetters (Fresno, CA) - Outstanding Lineman Award for Offense; senior offensive lineman Patrick Thompson (Glendora, CA) and senior wide receiver John McGough (Bellevue, WA) - Dave Adolph "Do You Love Football" Award for Offense; senior safety Loka Kanongataa (Bellevue, WA) - Dave Adolph "Do You Love Football" Award for Defense; and senior running back Kenslow Smith (San Diego, CA) - Dave Adolph "Do You Love Football" Award for Special Teams.



The Toreros, who finished with a 9-2 overall mark, tied for first place in the Pioneer Football League with Drake at 7-1. USD finished ranked 25th in the Football Championship Subdivision Coaches Top-25 poll.
Video Thumbnail Basketball: City Championship
Toreros play SDSU Thursday night at 8
Video Thumbnail Football: Week Fourteen
Football preps for second round of playoffs at NDSU
Video Thumbnail Football: NAU From the Sidelines
Toreros win in first round of playoffs at NAU
Video Thumbnail Football: Week Thirteen
Football travels to NAU for the first round of the FCS Playoffs
Video Thumbnail Torero Tuesday
A day to give to Torero Athletics
Video Thumbnail Football: Week Twelve
Toreros gear up for last game of conference play
Video Thumbnail Football: Week Eleven
Toreros prep for game day
Video Thumbnail Torero Timeout with Summer Mason
USD junior women's soccer player takes a timeout during a study break
Video Thumbnail On Saturday We Dominate
Big wins for both USD Football and USD Volleyball Saturday afternoon
Video Thumbnail Torero Timeout with Henry Lander
Men's soccer sophomore Henry Lander takes a Timeout between classes
Video Thumbnail Football: Week Ten
Toreros gear up for home game against Drake
Video Thumbnail Halloween Hoopla
Men's and women's basketball teamed up to host a Halloween event
Video Thumbnail Football: Week Nine
Big day in the weight room for the Toreros
Video Thumbnail Seamus McFadden's Legacy
39 years in review by former players and coaches
Video Thumbnail Seamus Night
Alumni, staff and the San Diego community gathered to celebrate Men's Soccer Head Coach Seamus McFadden
Video Thumbnail Sixth Man Night: The Event
Recap video of the October 12 fundraiser event
Video Thumbnail Women's Basketball: WCC Hoops Tip-Off
Coach Fisher and Maya Hood attend media day in Las Vegas
Video Thumbnail Men's Basketball: New Heights
Men's basketball celebrates the third era of the program
Video Thumbnail Homecoming
Alumni and family gathered together for an eventful Homecoming weekend
Video Thumbnail Torero Timeout with Kristen Gengenbacher
Take a Timeout with the senior setter at her house in South Mission Beach
Video Thumbnail Football: Week Seven
Football preps for this Saturday's Homecoming game
Video Thumbnail Torero Timeout with Jonathan Petersen
USD Football's Petersen strolls through Belmont Park during his bye week
Video Thumbnail USD Basketball: Practice No. 1
Check out what practice looks like for the Torero ballers
Video Thumbnail Football: Week Five
Toreros prep for big game against Dayton
Video Thumbnail Football: FaceTime with Lion's Jamal Agnew
USD Head Coach Dale Lindsey congratulates Torero alum Agnew on his first NFL touchdown
Video Thumbnail Football: Brian Fogarty PFL Classic
From tailgates to touchdowns, we got it all
Video Thumbnail Football: Week Four
Hard work follows these Toreros on and off the field
Video Thumbnail Cross Country: USD Invite
Missed Saturday's race? Don't stress, we have it right here
Video Thumbnail Football: Week Three
Sights and sounds of USD Football at work
Video Thumbnail USD Invite: Take a Lap
Men's and women's cross country host the USD Invite: the only home race for the Toreros
Video Thumbnail Football: Week Two
Football hard at work for their first away game at UC Davis
Video Thumbnail Three Games - One Day
Ole Weekend was one to remember for USD Athletics
Video Thumbnail Football: Week One
Toreros preps for their home opener against Western New Mexico
Video Thumbnail 2017 Football Season Preview
Head Coach Dale Lindsey and Senior Ray Clark discuss upcoming season
Video Thumbnail USD Athletics Highlight Video 2016-17
Don't miss the best highlights from this past year in USD Athletics


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


West Coast Conference USD
Top ^
» «