Mason Mills named USD Football Most Valuable Player
USDTOREROS.COM Mills tabbed team MVP
Mills tabbed team MVP

Dec. 15, 2012

2012AwardWinners Get Acrobat Reader

At the end-of-the-season USD Football Awards Banquet held today on the campus of USD, junior quarterback Mason Mills (Coronado, CA) was tabbed the team's Most Valuable Player. For the season Mills completed 252-of-360 passes for 3,106 yards and 20 touchdowns. His 70.0% completion percentage was the top mark among all FCS players this season. He also ranked 5th in passing efficiency (154.26) and 21st in total offense (270.91 yards per game). A two-time PFL player of the week recipient, Mills played a key role in the team finishing out the year with six straight victories and their second straight share of the PFL championship.

Senior defensive tackle Dustin Geyer (Oak Park, CA) was named the team's Defensive MVP while senior center Matt Peleti (Laguna Niguel, CA) received the Offensive MVP award. Geyer anchored the defensive line unit that helped the Toreros rank 15th in the FCS in both scoring defense (19.27 ppg) and rushing defense (120.0 yards per game). Peleti moved to center and anchored the team's offensive line unit where he directed the Torero offense with both run blocking and pass protection packages. The USD offense ranked 21st overall in total offense (433.64 yards per game).

Additional awards were handed out to thirteen other Toreros: senior kicker Ernie Collins (San Ramon, CA) - Kevin Briscoe Special Teams Player of the Year; sophomore safety Troy McClelland (San Diego, CA) - Dr. James B. Orwig Scholar-Athlete of the Year; freshman linebacker Chris Campano (San Diego, CA) - Defensive Scout Player of the Year; freshman wide receiver Tyler Tony (Escondido, CA) - Offensive Scout Player of the Year; freshman offensive lineman Pono Keni (Kailua, HI) - Most Outstanding 1st Year Player; senior linebacker Zach Dunaj (Thousand Oaks, CA) - Strength Coaches Award; sophomore defensive tackle Clint Johnson (Wheatland, CA) - Most Improved Defensive Player; senior tight end Kyle Lokanc (San Diego, CA) - Most Improved Offensive Player; junior defensive end Steve Gargiulo (Palo Alto, CA) - Outstanding Lineman Award for Defense; junior offensive lineman Cody Tescher (Glendora, CA) - Outstanding Lineman Award for Offense; junior fullback Lawrence Larivee (Chino Hills, CA) - Dave Adolph "Do You Love Football" Award for Offense; and senior safety Joey York (Pleasant Hill, CA) - Dave Adolph "Do You Love Football" Award for Defense.

Additionally, sixteen Toreros received their Senior Award, with running back J.P. Bolwahnn (Albuquerque, NM) earning the Torero Senior of the Year honor. In addition, those players that were selected either All-PFL or PFL All-Academic, were recognized for their outstanding achievements. The Toreros, who finished with a 8-3 overall mark and tied for first place in the Pioneer Football League with Butler and Drake at 7-1, will be recognized at Sunday's San Diego Chargers football game.




Video Thumbnail
Men's Basketball Season Tickets
Starting as Low as $99

Video Thumbnail
Butler Preview
Pono Keni and Coach Lindsey talk about Saturday's Senior Day game against Butler

Video Thumbnail
CSUN Preview
Coach Fisher and forward Maya Hood talk about Tuesday's home-opener against CSUN

Video Thumbnail
USC Preview
Coach Smith and Brett Bailey preview the season opener at USC

Video Thumbnail
Davidson Preview
Jonah Hodges and Dale Lindsey talk about Jonah's return and preview Davidson game

Video Thumbnail
San Diego Fall Classic Preview
Coach Dagman previews the San Diego Fall Classic

Video Thumbnail
Nevada Preview
USD's Women's Basketball team will start their season at Nevada this weekend

Video Thumbnail
USD Men's Basketball - The Origins (1955-1973)
A Glance at the Beginnings of Torero Hoops

Video Thumbnail
Campbell Preview
Coach Lindsey and Jeff Starr preview Campbell

Video Thumbnail
Stetson Preview
Coach Lindsey and Jereke Armstrong talk about the season so far

Video Thumbnail
WCC Media Day
Behind the scenes with Men's and Women's Basketball at WCC media day

Video Thumbnail
Warner Recap
Dale Lindsey and Anthony Lawrence on USD's 45-14 win

Video Thumbnail
Warner Preview

Anthony Lawrence and Coach Lindsey preview game vs. Warner

Video Thumbnail
Torero Community Service

USD Athletics helps out at Father Joe's Village in downtown San Diego

Video Thumbnail
Men's Basketball Camp Update

Kok and Carter talk about the upcoming season

Video Thumbnail
Drake Preview

Toreros host Bulldogs for Homecoming game

Video Thumbnail
Dayton Preview

Toreros look for 4th straight win

Video Thumbnail
LMU Preview

Pack the Stadium Night

Video Thumbnail
ITA All-American's Preview

Petronijevic, Angus, & Vittek Prepare

Video Thumbnail
Marist Preview

USD Looks to Extend Home Win Streak

Video Thumbnail
Valparaiso Preview

Toreros First True Road Game of 2015

Video Thumbnail
CSUN and UCSB Preview

Toreros Look to Extend Win Streak

Video Thumbnail
Aztec Invite Recap

Both Squads Finish Second

Video Thumbnail
SDSU Preview

Toreros Take on Cross-town Rival

Video Thumbnail
WNMU Recap

Highlights from 45-21 win

Video Thumbnail
2015 Home Opener

Previewing Western New Mexico

Video Thumbnail
Volleyball Tournament Preview

A preview of the USD Tournament
Video Thumbnail
Men's Soccer Season Opener
Previewing No. 16 Cal
Video Thumbnail
Training Camp Update
Coach Lindsey Recaps the First Two Weeks
Video Thumbnail
2015 WSOC Preview
A brief preview of the 2015 Toreros.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago

West Coast Conference USD
» «