USD Men Voted to Win WCC in Preseason Coaches Poll

Dan Delgado

Aug. 14, 2012

Click here to watch the preseason All-WCC team video

SAN DIEGO, Calif. - The University of San Diego men's soccer team has been picked to win the West Coast Conference in the 2012 WCC Preseason Coaches Poll, released on Tuesday. The Toreros took home four first place votes and 34 points overall in the poll voted on by conference coaches. Santa Clara was voted second with two first place votes and 29 points overall, while Portland came in third with 26 points. Loyola Marymount, who came in fourth in the poll (20 pts.), was the only other team to receive a first place vote. Saint Mary's and San Francisco tied for fifth place with 16 points apiece and Gonzaga rounded out the poll with a total of seven points.

The Toreros also placed three players on this year's preseason All-WCC team. Highlighting the preseason honorees is reining WCC Player of the Year Dan Delgado. He is joined by 2011 first-teamer Elijah Galbraith-Knapp and 2010 WCC Player of the Year Patrick Wallen.

The USD men are coming off a 9-9-1 (6-5-1 WCC) campaign in 2011 that saw them finish in a tie for third with Portland. The Toreros return a total of four All-WCC selections from a year ago. In addition to Delgado and Galbraith-Knapp, USD welcomes back honorable mention selection Conor McFadden and All-Freshman team honoree Thomas Fiskerstrand.

USD opens the season with a scrimmage at UC Riverside on Thursday at 7 pm, followed by their regular season opener at home against No. 13 UC Irvine on Friday, Aug. 24 at 7:30 pm.

Team (First Place Votes) Points
1. San Diego (4) 34
2. Santa Clara (2) 29
3. Portland 26
4. Loyola Marymount (1) 20
T5. Saint Mary's 16
T5. San Francisco 16
7. Gonzaga 7



Player School Yr. Pos.
Miguel Aguilar San Francisco So. F
Jose Cabeza Saint Mary's Sr. M
Dan Delgado San Diego Sr. M
Steven Evans Portland Jr. M
Elijah Galbraith-Knapp San Diego Jr. D
Erik Hurtado Santa Clara Sr. F
James Matern Gonzaga RJr. M
Trevor Newquist Saint Mary's Sr. D
Clark Phillips Gonzaga So. F
Brendan Roslund San Francisco Sr. GK
Patrick Wallen San Diego Sr. F