Skip to main content
USD Men Tabbed for Second in WCC Preseason Poll
Elijah Galbraith-Knapp

Aug 23, 2013

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - The University of San Diego men's soccer team was picked to finish second in the 2013 West Coast Conference Preseason Poll, released by the conference on Friday. The Toreros had two players selected to the preseason All-WCC team as well in seniors Elijah Galbraith-Knapp and Julian Ringhof.

As an early indication of the wide open race for this year's WCC crown, the seven first-place votes from the conference coaches were scattered among five different teams. USD received two first-place votes and 45 points overall, while Santa Clara was voted to win the conference after collecting 47 total points and one first-place vote. Loyola Marymount was picked for third after taking home two first-place votes, followed by San Francisco and Saint Mary's, who each picked up one first-place vote apiece. Portland and Gonzaga rounded out the final two spots in the poll.

Galbraith-Knapp, a senior from San Diego, was a second-team All-WCC selection last season after starting all 21 games he appeared in in the midfield. He tallied three goals, including two game-winners, to go along with an assist for seven points overall on the year.

Ringhof, a fifth-year senior defender from Sexau, Germany, turned in a strong year in 2012 after transferring to USD from Cal State Los Angeles. Ringhof was a third-team NSCAA All-Region selection as well an All-WCC second-teamer. Ringhof also scored a pair of goals on the year, including one in USD's Elite Eight loss at Georgetown in last year's NCAA Tournament.

USD won the 2012 WCC title, their first since 2009, and put together their second-best NCAA Tournament run in team history after advancing to the Elite Eight. The Toreros posted a 14-9-0 overall record last season and a 9-3-0 mark in WCC play.

The Toreros open the 2013 campaign at San Diego State on Aug. 30 at 7 pm. They play their first WCC contest on Oct. 2 at home against Loyola Marymount.



Team (First Place Votes) Points
1. Santa Clara (1) 47
2. San Diego (2) 45
3. Loyola Marymount (2) 44
4. San Francisco (1) 41
5. Saint Mary's (1) 38
6. Portland 34
7. Gonzaga 6

Player School Yr. Pos.
Miguel Aguilar San Francisco Jr. F
Derek Boggs Portland Jr. M
Mark Daus Santa Clara Sr. D
Mauricio Diaz De Leon San Francisco Sr. M
Elijah Galbraith-Knapp San Diego Sr. M
Nick Hamer Gonzaga Sr. M
Liam Kelly San Francisco Sr. F
Lars Ludwigs Gonzaga RS-Jr. M
Ryan Masch Santa Clara So. F
Julian Ringhof San Diego RS-Sr. D
Pedro Velazquez Loyola Marymount So. F

Video Thumbnail USD Basketball: New Heights
Men's basketball celebrates the third era of the program
Video Thumbnail Homecoming
Alumni and family gathered together for an eventful Homecoming weekend
Video Thumbnail Torero Timeout with Kristen Gengenbacher
Take a Timeout with the senior setter at her house in South Mission Beach
Video Thumbnail USD Football: Week Seven
Football preps for this Saturday's Homecoming game
Video Thumbnail Torero Timeout with Jonathan Petersen
USD Football's Petersen strolls through Belmont Park during his bye week
Video Thumbnail USD Basketball: Practice No. 1
Check out what practice looks like for the Torero ballers
Video Thumbnail USD Football: Week Five
Toreros prep for big game against Dayton
Video Thumbnail USD Football: FaceTime with Lion's Jamal Agnew
USD Head Coach Dale Lindsey congratulates Torero alum Agnew on his first NFL touchdown
Video Thumbnail USD Football: Brian Fogarty PFL Classic
From tailgates to touchdowns, we got it all
Video Thumbnail USD Football: Week Four
Hard work follows these Toreros on and off the field
Video Thumbnail USD Cross Country: USD Invite
Missed Saturday's race? Don't stress, we have it right here
Video Thumbnail USD Football: Week Three
Sights and sounds of USD Football at work
Video Thumbnail USD Invite: Take a Lap
Men's and women's cross country host the USD Invite: the only home race for the Toreros
Video Thumbnail USD Football: Week Two
Football hard at work for their first away game at UC Davis
Video Thumbnail Three Games - One Day
Ole Weekend was one to remember for USD Athletics
Video Thumbnail USD Football: Week One
Toreros preps for their home opener against Western New Mexico
Video Thumbnail 2017 Football Season Preview
Head Coach Dale Lindsey and Senior Ray Clark discuss upcoming season
Video Thumbnail USD Athletics Highlight Video 2016-17
Don't miss the best highlights from this past year in USD Athletics


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


West Coast Conference USD
Top ^
» «