Seamus McFadden Named WCC Coach of the Year

Seamus McFadden

Seamus McFadden

Nov. 13, 2012

SAN DIEGO, Calif. - University of San Diego men's soccer coach Seamus McFadden was named West Coast Conference Coach of the Year for the eighth time, as announced by the conference on Tuesday afternoon. The Toreros also had a total of 10 All-WCC honorees- three first-teamers, three second-teamers, three honorable mentions and one All-Freshman team recipient.

McFadden, who is in his 34th year at the helm, earned his first coach of the year honor since 2000 after helping guide the Toreros (11-8-0, 9-3-0 WCC) to their first WCC title in three seasons and their 13th NCAA Tournament berth. USD reeled off eight-straight wins after McFadden adjusted the offensive scheme at the beginning of WCC play, setting the Toreros up to clinch the conference title with a 2-0 win over Saint Mary's on Nov. 9.

Senior midfielder Dan Delgado earned his second consecutive first-team All-WCC nod after scoring seven goals in WCC play, which was tied for the second-most in the conference. Delgado was also tied for second with four assists in conference play. Overall, he led the Toreros with eight goals, five assists and 21 points on the year.

Senior forward Patrick Wallen was named to the All-WCC first team for the third time in his career (previously in 2009 & 2010). Wallen was fourth in the conference in goals scored (5) during WCC play and was second on the team with six goals, two assists and 14 points overall.

Earning a spot on the first team for the first time in his career was senior midfielder James Cohn, who was previously named to the All-Freshman team in 2009. Cohn's defense and ability to set his teammates up, as he demonstrated with three assists on the year, made him a mainstay in the Torero lineup, both this season and throughout his career.



The second team consisted of three players whose value to the team wasn't measured in statistics as much as the hard-nosed approach they took to making the USD defense one of the best in the conference. Senior midfielder Christian Duke was a second-teamer this season, along with junior midfielder Elijah Galbraith-Knapp and redshirt junior defender Julian Ringhof.

Duke didn't record any goals or assists this season but was regularly locking down opposing offenses, while Galbraith-Knapp, who was a first-teamer last season, scored three goals overall and had an assist on the year. Ringhof was another stout defender who managed to knock in one game-winning goal in his first season as a Torero.

Senior midfielder Conor McFadden earned his second consecutive honorable mention nod after notching three assists this season, while redshirt sophomore Drew Ilijevski came on halfway through the season as a consistent stopper in goal to earn his first career honorable mention recognition and senior defender Matt Chavez handed out three assists to pick up his first honorable mention selection as well.

Midfielder Torrey DeArmas earned a spot on the WCC All-Freshman team after he became a regular starter on Sept. 28 and didn't leave the starting lineup after that. DeArmas scored two goals in his 12 matches this year, all in WCC play, and added one assist.

The six first- and second-team selections ties the 1992 USD NCAA finalist squad for the second-most in team history. The 1990 team had the most in Torero history with four first-team picks and three second-teamers.

The Toreros are turning their attention to Cal State Northridge, who they will play in the first round of the NCAA Tournament on Thursday, Nov. 15 at 7 pm at CSUN.

Player of the Year:
Erik Hurtado, Jr., Forward, Santa Clara
Defensive Player of the Year:
Trevor Newquist, Sr., Saint Mary's
Goalkeeper of the Year:
Larry Jackson, Sr., Santa Clara
Freshman of the Year:
Pedro Velazquez, Forward, Loyola Marymount
Coach of the Year:
Seamus McFadden, San Diego

Player School Yr. Pos.
Jose Cabeza Saint Mary's Sr. M
James Cohn San Diego Sr. M
Mark Daus Santa Clara Jr. D/M
Dan Delgado San Diego Sr. M
Mauricio Diaz De Leon San Francisco Jr. M
Steven Evans Portland Jr. M
Nick Hamer Gonzaga Jr. M
Erik Hurtado Santa Clara Sr. F
Larry Jackson Santa Clara Sr. GK
Trevor Newquist Saint Mary's Sr. D
Patrick Wallen San Diego Sr. F

Player School Yr. Pos.
Miguel Aguilar San Francisco So. F
Derek Boggs Portland So. M
Mitch Boland Loyola Marymount RS-Sr. D
Ricardo Carrillo Portland Sr. F
Christian Duke San Diego Sr. M
Elijah Galbraith-Knapp San Diego Jr. M
Liam Kelly San Francisco Jr. F
Lars Ludwigs Gonzaga RS-So. M
Julian Ringhof San Diego RS-Jr. D
Brendan Roslund San Francisco Sr. GK
Pedro Velazquez Loyola Marymount Fr. F

Honorable Mention: Tariq Adam (Saint Mary's); Nathan Arambula (Saint Mary's); Bryce Bacic (Loyola Marymount); Paul Blanchette (Loyola Marymount); Murphy Campbell (Santa Clara); Greg Carter (Gonzaga); Matthew Chavez (San Diego); Matt Escobar (Santa Clara); Michael Escobar (Portland); Kevin Gould (San Francisco); Keith Grubisich (Portland); Drew Ilijevski (San Diego); Ryan Masch (Santa Clara); James Matern (Gonzaga); Conor McFadden (San Diego); John McFarlin (Loyola Marymount); Carlos Montes (Santa Clara); Craig Nitti (Loyola Marymount); Clark Phillips (Gonzaga); Andre Rawls (Saint Mary's); David Romney (San Francisco); Sean Sears (Loyola Marymount); Joshua Smith (San Francisco); Forrest Solis (Saint Mary's); Jaime Velasco (Portland)

Player School Pos.
Conner Bevans Gonzaga F
Paul Blanchette Loyola Marymount GK
Torrey DeArmas San Diego M
Kevin Gould San Francisco D
Ryan Masch Santa Clara F
Max Ornstil Santa Clara M
Hugo Rhoads Portland M
Joshua Smith San Francisco D/M
Forrest Solis Saint Mary's D
Jaime Velazco Portland F/M
Pedro Velazquez Loyola MarymountF