Dan Delgado Named WCC Player of the Year

Dan Delgado

Nov. 15, 2011

SAN DIEGO, Calif.- University of San Diego midfielder Dan Delgado was named the West Coast Conference Player of the Year, as the conference announced this year's All-WCC honorees on Tuesday. Delgado, who became the third-consecutive Torero to take home conference player of the year honors, was joined by sophomore midfielder Elijah Galbraith-Knapp on the All-WCC first team. Senior forward Stephen Posa earned second-team honors, while senior Charles Blasé and junior Conor McFadden were named honorable mention. In addition, defender Thomas Fiskerstrand was named to the All-WCC Freshman Team.

Prior to Delgado, USD's Patrick Wallen won WCC player of the year in 2010 and Ryan Peterman garnered the honor in 2009.

This season, Delgado (Escondido, Calif.) tallied both of his goals and all five of his assists in conference play, totaling a team-high nine points in WCC action. A starter in all but one match this year, Delgado was second in the WCC with .42 assists per game in conference play. He was also fifth in the conference with .75 points per game in 12 WCC matches. This is the second All-WCC nod for Delgado, who earned honorable mention honors last season.

Galbraith-Knapp (San Diego, Calif.) led the Toreros in goals (4) and points (10) overall on the year. He was a fixture in the Torero lineup, starting all 19 matches this season, and recorded three goals, two assists and eight points in WCC play. Galbraith-Knapp scored game-winners against Manhattan (9/11) and San Francisco (10/14). He was named to the All-WCC Freshman Team in 2010.

Posa (San Diego, Calif.) played in 18 of USD's 19 matches this season despite being slowed by injuries. He tallied a total of two goals and three assists on the year, included a game-winner in the 88th minute that gave USD a 2-1 victory over cross-town rival San Diego State on Sept. 4th. Posa had one goal, three assists and five points in conference action this season. He also earned All-WCC second-team honors in 2010 and All-WCC Freshman Team recognition in 2008.

Blasé (Tucson, Ariz.) wrapped up his USD career with his first All-WCC athletic honor after appearing in all but three games during his career. The midfielder made his lone goal of the season count with a game-winner against Penn (9/9). Blasé added an assist for a total of three points on the year. Earlier this season, Blasé was named Capital One Academic All-District and last season was a WCC All-Academic selection.

McFadden (San Diego, Calif.) took home his first all-conference honor as well, after coming on late with two goals and three assists in WCC play. Overall, he scored three goals on the year and collected nine points, tied for second-most on the team.

Fiskerstrand (Aalesund, Norway) helped solidify the USD defense, which posted eight shutouts on the year, tied for the conference lead. Fiskerstrand worked his way into the Torero starting lineup as the season progressed; starting 12 of the 14 matches he played in, including all 10 conference matches that he appeared in. Fiskerstrand also recorded one assist this year.

The Toreros (9-9-1, 6-5-1 WCC) finished the season tied for third with Portland, while Saint Mary's was crowned conference champions.

2011 West Coast Conference Player of the Year
Dan Delgado, Jr., MF, San Diego

2011 West Coast Conference Defensive Player of the Year
Ryan Kawulok, So., Portland

2011 West Coast Conference Goalkeeper of the Year
Brendan Roslund, Jr.., San Francisco

2011 West Coast Conference Freshman of the Year
Clark Phillips, F, Gonzaga

2011 West Coast Conference Coach of the Year
Adam Cooper, Saint Mary's

Player Yr. Pos. School
Mykell Bates Sr. D Santa Clara
Agustin Cazarez Sr. MF Saint Mary's
Dan Delgado Jr. MF San Diego
Steven Evas So. MF Portland
Erik Hurtado Jr. F Santa Clara
Artur Jozkowicz Sr. F/MF Loyola Marymount
Ryan Kawulok So. D Portland
Elijah Galbraith-Knapp So. D San Diego
Michael Nielsen Sr. MF Portland
Brendan Roslund Jr. GK San Francisco
Brandon Zimmerman Sr. MF Santa Clara

Player Yr. Pos. School
Miguel Aguilar Fr. F San Francisco
Malcolm Alugas Sr. F Saint Mary's
Jose Cabeza Jr. MF Saint Mary's
Phil Da Silva Sr. F/MF Loyola Marymount
Julian Godinez RS-Sr. MF Saint Mary's
Nick Hamer So. MF Gonzaga
Doug Herrick Sr. GK Saint Mary's
Tyler Krumpe Sr. D Loyola Marymount
James Matern RS-So. MF Gonzaga
Josh Phillips So. D Gonzaga
Stephen Posa Sr. F San Diego

Connor Barbaree (Portland); Charles Blase (San Diego); Derek Boggs (Portland); Ricardo Carrillo (Portland); Wesley Culver (Santa Clara); Justin Grider (Saint Mary's); Larry Jackson (Santa Clara); Vegard Karlsen (San Francisco); Eric Masch (Santa Clara); Logan McDaniel (Loyola Marymount); Conor McFadden (San Diego); John McFarlin (Loyola Marymount); Connor Mitchell (Santa Clara); Trevor Newquist (Portland); Kevin Orozco (San Francisco); Clark Phillips (Gonzaga); David Romney (San Francisco)

Player Pos. School
Miguel Aguilar F San Francisco
Derek Boggs MF Portland
Thomas Fiskerstrand D San Diego
Riley Hanley MF Saint Mary's
John McFarlin MF Nate Pacheco
Nate Pacheco F Gonzaga
Clark Phillips F Gonzga
David Romney D San Francisco
Dylan Seedman D San Francisco
Glenn Vass MF Santa Clara
Brian Visser D San Francisco