Skip to main content
Men's soccer has seven All-WCC honorees
Julian Ringhof

Nov. 19, 2013

SAN DIEGO, Calif. - The USD men's soccer team had seven players selected to the All-West Coast Conference team, which was announced on Tuesday. Connor Brandt and Julian Ringhof represented USD on the first team, while Torrey DeArmas was selected to the second team and Michael D'Arrigo, Elijah Galbraith-Knapp, and Keegan Smith were each honorable mention selections and Michael Turner was named to the All-Freshman team.

Brandt, a junior midfielder from Temecula, Calif., led the Toreros with five goals, six assists, and 16 points on the year. Brandt was tied for second in the conference in assists, ranked sixth in points and was tied for fifth in goals. He was named WCC Player of the Week on Oct. 28. This is his first All-WCC selection.

Ringhof, a senior defender from Sexau, Germany, earned his second consecutive All-WCC nod after being a second-teamer last season. Ringhof started 17 of the 18 games he appeared in this year, scoring one goal and adding an assist. He was also named to the WCC All-Academic squad earlier this season.

DeArmas, a sophomore forward from Escondido, Calif., was tied for second on the team with four goals and added an assist for nine points on the year. He was also second on the team in shots this season (35). He earned WCC Player of the Week honors on Nov. 11. DeArmas was an All-Freshman selection last year.

D'Arrigo, a senior goalkeeper from Tucson, Ariz., led the conference in saves (89) this season, while starting 19 of the 20 contests he appeared in. He posted a record of 6-9-4 in goal and had four shutouts. This was his first All-WCC honor.



Galbraith-Knapp, a senior midfielder from San Diego, played a number of different positions for the Toreros throughout the season, registering two goals and two assists on the year. He was a second-team selection last year and has earned All-WCC recognition each year of his career.

Smith, a sophomore forward from Temecula, earned his first All-WCC nod after scoring four goals with two assists for 10 points this season, which ranked third on the team.

Turner, a freshman midfielder from San Diego, came on strong in his first year as a Torero by scoring four goals and adding three assists, giving him 11 points on the year, which was second-best on the team.

As a team, the Toreros finished with an overall record of 6-10-4 this season with a WCC record of 2-7-3.

Coach of the Year: Paul Krumpe, Loyola Marymount
Player of the Year: Nick Hamer, Gonzaga
Defender of the Year: Josh Phillips, Gonzaga
Goalkeeper of the Year: Paul Blanchette, Loyola Marymount
Freshman of the Year: Eddie Sanchez, Portland

2013 All-WCC First Team Name Yr. Pos. School Connor Brandt Jr. F San Diego Robert Conner Jr. D Saint Mary's Nick Hamer Sr. M Gonzaga Vegard Karlsen Sr. M San Francisco John McFarlin Jr. M Loyola Marymount Carlos Montes Sr. M Santa Clara Craig Nitti Jr. D Loyola Marymount Adrien Perez Fr. M Loyola Marymount Josh Phillips Sr. D Gonzaga Julian Ringhof Sr. D San Diego Eddie Sanchez Fr. M/F Portland

2013 All-WCC Second Team Name Yr. Pos. School Miguel Aguilar Jr. F San Francisco Paul Blanchette So. GK Loyola Marymount Ryan Caballero Sr. GK Gonzaga Matthew Coffey Fr. M Portland Mark Daus Sr. D Santa Clara Torrey DeArmas So. M San Diego Juan De Rada Jr. M Loyola Marymount Mauricio Diaz De Leon Sr. M San Francisco Harrison Hanley Sr. M/F Santa Clara Clark Phillips Jr. F Gonzaga Sean Sears Sr. M Loyola Marymount

2013 WCC Honorable Mention Selections Derek Boggs, Portland; Alex Braman, Saint Mary's; Conner Bevans, Gonzaga; Greg Carter, Gonzaga; Michael D'Arrigo, San Diego; Ryan Felix, Loyola Marymount; Connor Gaal, San Francisco; Justin Howard, Saint Mary's; Liam Kelly, San Francisco; Elijah Galbraith-Knapp, San Diego; Lars Ludwigs, Gonzaga; Jack McCracken, Loyola Marymount; Kendall McIntosh, Santa Clara; Hugo Rhodes, Portland; Dylan Seedman, Loyola Marymount; Michael Semenza, Saint Mary's; Joshua Smith, San Francisco; Keegan Smith, San Diego
2013 All-Freshman Team
Name	          Pos.	School
Alex Braman	  D	Saint Mary's
Edson Cardona	  F/M	Santa Clara
Matthew Coffey	  M	Portland
Christian De Luna D	San Francisco
Mark Dotseth	  D	Loyola Marymount
Connor Gaal	  GK	San Francisco
Jakob Granlund	  F	Gonzaga
Parker Holland	  M	Santa Clara
Adrien Perez	  M	Loyola Marymount
Eddie Sanchez	  M/F	Portland
Michael Turner	  M	San Diego
Video Thumbnail 2017 Football Season Preview
Head Coach Dale Lindsey and Senior Ray Clark discuss upcoming season
Video Thumbnail Celebration of Excellence 2017
Check out the end of the year COE boat cruise with student-athletes, coaches and staff
Video Thumbnail USD Athletics Highlight Video 2016-17
Don't miss the best highlights from this past year in USD Athletics
Video Thumbnail President for a Day
USD President Harris switched places with Track & Cross Country Senior Olivia Gonzalez
Video Thumbnail Torero Timeout with Olivia Sandusky
Walk down the beach with softball senior Olivia Sandusky on a Torero Timeout
Video Thumbnail Jamal Agnew Drafted to the Detroit Lions
Jamal Agnew was drafted in the fifth round as the #165 pick to the Lions


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


West Coast Conference USD
Top ^
» «