Torero cross country finishes strong at WCC Championships

John Cutter

Oct. 27, 2012

Complete Women's Results Get Acrobat Reader

Complete Men's Results Get Acrobat Reader

PORTLAND, Ore. - The University of San Diego men's and women's cross country teams put in a strong effort at the West Coast Conference Championships on Saturday afternoon at Fernhill Park in Portland, Ore. The Toreros' women's team finished in seventh place overall, while the men finished in eighth. Portland took home the WCC crown on the men's side as San Francisco won it all on the women's.

USD freshman Julia Lipson clocked the best individual time for the Toreros with her season-best 6k run of 21:12, which was good for 17th place overall. Senior John Cutter posted the men's top time with his 26:01 8k, putting him in 47th place overall.

Another Torero freshman, Ashton Padberg, came up with the women's next best time as she finished in 48th place at 22:35, followed closely by senior Emerald Raney at 22:41.

Erik Anderson came in right behind Cutter in 48th place in the men's race with his time of 26:04. Jacob Bruce wasn't far behind Anderson as he clocked a 26:17 and finished in 52nd place.

Some members of the Torero cross country squad will be participating in the NCAA Western Regional on Nov. 9th in Seattle, Wash.

Final Women's Team Scores
1. San Francisco 26
2. Portland 52
3. BYU 85
4. Gonzaga 105
5. Loyola Marymount 110
6. Santa Clara 187
7. San Diego 203
8. Saint Mary's 246
9. Pepperdine 269

Final Men's Team Scores
1. Portland 32
2. BYU 33
3. Gonzaga 103
4. San Francisco 105
5. Loyola Marymount 124
6. Saint Mary's 160
7. Santa Clara 189
8. San Diego 240
9. Pepperdine 283

2012 Women's Cross Country All-West Coast Conference Team
Eva Krchova, San Francisco, Jr.
Elena Burkard, San Francisco, Fr.
Sheree Shea, LMU, Sr.
Natalie Shields, BYU, Fr.
Laura Hottenrott-Freitag, Portland, Fr.
Alice Baker, San Francisco, Sr.
Laura Suur, San Francisco, Sr.
Tansey Lystad, Portland, So.
Lindsey Drake, Gonzaga, Sr.

Honorable Mention
Chloe Treleven, San Francisco, Sr.
Maor Tiyouri, San Francisco, Jr.
Lyndy Davis, Portland, Sr.
Gina Paletta , Portland, Sr.
Natasha Verma, Portland, Jr.

WCC Individual Champion
Eva Krchova, San Francisco, Jr.

WCC Women's Coach of the Year
Helen Lehman-Winters, San Francisco

WCC Freshman of the Year
Elena Burkard, San Francisco

2012 Men's Cross Country All-West Coast Conference Team
Jared Ward, BYU, Jr.
Scott Fauble, Portland, So.
William Kincaid, Portland, So
Tylor Thatcher, BYU, Jr.
David Perry, Portland, So.
Jason Witt, BYU, Jr.
Weston Strum, Loyola Marymount, Jr.
Rajpaul Pannu, Saint Mary's, Jr.
Lars Erik Malde, Portland, Sr.
Conner Peloquin, BYU, Jr.

Honorable Mention
Tate Kelly, Gonzaga, Sr.
Steve Flint, BYU, So.
Jared Bassett, Portland, Sr.
Curtis Carr, BYU, Jr.
Jose Madera, San Francisco, Jr.

WCC Individual Champion
Jared Ward, BYU, Jr.

WCC Women's Coach of the Year
Rob Conner, Portland

WCC Freshman of the Year
Jacob Smith, Portland