Skip to main content
President Hosts Luncheon for Scholar Athletes

May 15, 2014

SAN DIEGO, Calif. - The University of San Diego's President's Luncheon for scholar athletes recognizes outstanding academic achievement and athletic accomplishments by intercollegiate student-athletes who have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or greater.  Recipients must also have completed two full-time semesters at USD.

Sherri Stephens congratulates Marta Stojanovic

This event is truly a who's who among University of San Diego academe, as the University President, Vice President and Provost, Vice President for Student Affairs, Associate Provost, College Deans and Faculty Athletic Representative attend and participate. Student-athletes are encouraged to invite a favorite professor to recognize their role in the academic success of the student-athlete.

Individual scholar athlete certificates are presented for overall academic achievement and team accomplishments are mentioned.  In addition, the highest grade point average for the sophomore, junior and senior class are recognized.

Taylor Housley, a senior political science major from the women's soccer team delivered the opening remarks.  Taylor will be applying to law school for admission in 2015.  Housley remarked, "This event means a lot to us. It's really nice to be appreciated for our hard work, not only on the field but in the classroom." "The faculty and staff give us a lot of support. First off, our coaches let us out of practice early sometimes to go to extra credit or office hours," Housley said. "The professors are available through e-mail all the time or they reschedule office hours for us so that we can make them. The athletic department they are always available to us as well; making sure our class schedules work with our practice schedule and supporting our careers.

Taylor Housley address audience

 Below is a complete list of the 45 recipients.

Kathryn Adamson

Rachel Alvey

Alexa Banker

Robbie Beathard

Mike Bosco

Alaysia Brown

Michelle Campbell

Andrew Carlisle

Joe Carlson

Thomas Cobbs

Michelle Craft

Anna Depenau

Noelle Devlin

President Lyons

Emily Dillon

Ryan Downing

Sophia Ederaine

Gillian Gorelik

Ellycia Halden

Olivia Houser

Taylor Housley

Drew Ilijevski

Stephanie Jones

Amy Kame

Nick Kerr

Rita Kuckertz

Dani LeMieux

Chelsea Lucas

Amy Maddox

Danielle Mavridis

Troy McClelland

Megan McNamara

Taylor Noonan

Blake Oliaro

Kylie Ordos

Ashton Padberg

Kalin Padberg

Torrey Ray

Julian Ringhof

Julia Sherwood

Alex Stimpfl

Marta Stojanovic

Cori Van Dyke

Allyson Ward

Katherine "McKenna" Wray




Video Thumbnail 2017 Football Season Preview
Head Coach Dale Lindsey and Senior Ray Clark discuss upcoming season
Video Thumbnail Celebration of Excellence 2017
Check out the end of the year COE boat cruise with student-athletes, coaches and staff
Video Thumbnail USD Athletics Highlight Video 2016-17
Don't miss the best highlights from this past year in USD Athletics
Video Thumbnail President for a Day
USD President Harris switched places with Track & Cross Country Senior Olivia Gonzalez
Video Thumbnail Torero Timeout with Olivia Sandusky
Walk down the beach with softball senior Olivia Sandusky on a Torero Timeout
Video Thumbnail Jamal Agnew Drafted to the Detroit Lions
Jamal Agnew was drafted in the fifth round as the #165 pick to the Lions


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


West Coast Conference USD
Top ^
» «