Women's rowing picked to win WCC

Hannah Patrick

March 29, 2012

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - The University of San Diego women's rowing team has been voted to finish first in the 2012 West Coast Conference preseason coaches poll, released by the conference on Thursday. The Toreros have won the past two WCC crowns, with the 2010 WCC championship being the first in program history.

The seven WCC head coaches voted in the preseason poll, with USD taking home four first-place votes and Gonzaga trailing just behind them with three first-place votes. Saint Mary's was picked to finish third, followed by Loyola Marymount, Creighton, Santa Clara, and Portland.

The Toreros also placed three rowers on the preseason All-WCC team as seniors Michelle Geesman, Stephanie Jegat, and Hannah Patrick were tabbed with the honor. Patrick has earned All-WCC recognition each of the past three seasons.

The 2012 WCC Rowing Championships will take place on May 12 at Lake Natoma in Gold River, Calif.

Preseason Poll (First Place Votes)
(1) San Diego (4)
(2) Gonzaga (3)
(3) Saint Mary's
(4) Loyola Marymount
(5) Creighton
(6) Santa Clara
(7) Portland

Preseason All-Conference Team
Rachel Donohoe, Santa Clara
Michelle Geesman, San Diego
Stephanie Jegat, San Diego
Christine Koehler, Creighton
Teddi McGuire, Gonzaga
Hannah Patrick, San Diego
Kat Regan, Loyola Marymount
Chelsea Serrano, Saint Mary's
Mia Tarte, Portland
Paula Welly, Gonzaga

-Names listed alphabetically