Michelle Campbell Earns All-American Honors

USDTOREROSDOTCOM Michelle Campbell became the second Torero rower to receive All-American honors
Michelle Campbell became the second Torero rower to receive All-American honors

June 9, 2014

CRCA All-Americans

SAN DIEGO, Calif. – Senior Michelle Campbell was named to the 2014 Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) All-American Second Team. She becomes just the second rower in program history to be named to the All-American team, joining Ali Cox (Second Team, 2001).

"I am humbled to be an All-American. However, this award isn't solely my doing," Campbell said. "Without the passion and commitment from the girls and the coaching staff we would've never made it to nationals and this award would've been a pipe dream. Its nice to get recognized for four years of hard work on and off the water."

"I have not ever seen, even after watching Olympians develop, a better strength to weight well rounded-athlete. Her athleticism, rowing talent, and drive is truly impressive and she is well deserving of this award," Head Coach Kim Cupini said.

Campbell has been piling up awards and accolades in the past month. Since helping the Toreros win the WCC Championship in mid-May, Campbell has been named WCC Rower of the Year, earned CRCA All-Region Honors, and was named San Diego Hall of Champions Star of the Month (May). Campbell and the Toreros then finished 15th overall in school’s first appearance in the NCAA Championships.

"Michelle Campbell has been an amazing addition to the program over the last few years. She took on the challenge of getting our program to the NCAA's for the first time and dropped an amazing amount of time on her erg in her last years of her career," Cupini said. 

General requirements for nominating a student-athlete for CRCA post-season honors are: 

·         The student-athlete must meet all eligibility rules as defined by her institution

·         The student-athlete must have rowed at least 75% of the current spring season's races in the varsity boat (before and including May 19, 2014)

·         The student-athlete must be nominated by her institution

·         The Head Coach of the student-athlete's institution must be a member in good standing of the CRCA

The nominated student-athletes are then selected to 1st and 2nd teams based on the following criteria:

·         Strength of finish of the institution's varsity eight within the country

·         Coach comments

·         2k erg score

2014 Pocock All America First Team Award Winners

Claire-Louise Bode, The Ohio State University

Erin Boxberger, University of Notre Dame

Louise Breen, Brown University

Maddie Cordner, University of Washington

Anna Dawson, Stanford University

Mera Dickensheets, Indiana University

Jessica Eiffert, University of Michigan

Kirstyn Goodger, University of Washington

Angie Gould, Princeton University

Jenna Gregoire, Harvard University

Krisztina Gyimes, University of Southern California

Brandy Herald, University of Virginia

Paparangi Hipango, University of California, Berkeley

Kara Kohler, University of California, Berkeley

Victoria Lazur, The Ohio State University, coxswain

Daphne Martschenko, Stanford University

Holly Norton, The Ohio State University

Bryna Oleshansky, University of Michigan

Kelsey Reelick, Princeton University

Catherine Shields, The Ohio State University

Muriel Solberg, Brown University

Meaghan Volker, University of California, Los Angeles

2014 Pocock All America Second Team Award Winners

Katherine Ashton, US Naval Academy

Ashley Bauer, The Ohio State University

Molly Bruggeman, University of Notre Dame

Michelle Campbell, University of San Diego

Maryann Concannon, Saint Mary's College of California

Constanze Duell, University of Virginia

Morgan Dunham, University of Louisville

Amanda Elmore, University of Michigan

Rachel Gottlieb, Brown University

Morgan Grastorf, University of Iowa

Georgia Hamilton, Syracuse University

Nicole Hare, Washington State University

Milena Heuer, Clemson University

Aggie Nowinski, University of California, Berkeley

Anne Rauschert, University of Wisconsin

Faith Richardson, Princeton University

Kate Roach, Cornell University

Mary Sandza, Brown University, coxswain

Anna Taylor, Oregon State University

Claire Tolson, Yale University

Kristy Wentzel, Stanford University

Ruth Whyman, University of Washington