USD Softball has five All-PCSC honorees

Cassidy Coleman

Cassidy Coleman

May 21, 2013

SAN DIEGO, Calif. - The USD softball team had five players named to the All-Pacific Coast Softball Conference squad, which was announced on Tuesday. Highlighting the list was RHP Cassidy Coleman, who represented USD on the All-PCSC First Team. Meanwhile, 1B Caitlin Rooney and UTL Mary Grabowski earned Second-Team honors, while 3B Chloe Kaneko and C Charly Swanberg were recognized as Honorable Mention.

Coleman, a junior, earned First-Team honors for the first time in her career after ranking second in the conference in strikeouts (211) this season and finished the year among the top five in a number of other pitching categories. She posted career bests with 13 wins and a 1.92 ERA on the year while striking out 211 in 174.2 innings pitched. Coleman also broke USD's career strikeout record this season and finished the campaign with 455 career strikeouts. She has been a Second-Team honoree each of the past two seasons.

Rooney hit .281 with nine doubles, a triple and 12 RBI in her sophomore campaign. She proved to be one of the toughest hitters to strikeout in all of the NCAA after finishing the season third in the nation averaging just one strikeout per 48.7 at-bats. Rooney only struck out three times in 146 at-bats overall on the year.

Grabowski had a strong freshman season splitting time behind the plate and at DP. She led the team with two home runs and 19 RBI on the year while hitting .244 overall. Grabowski delivered a number of clutch hits during PCSC play, including a ninth-inning go-ahead two-run homer at Saint Mary's on March 30th that lifted USD to victory.



Kaneko, a sophomore, was an Honorable Mention selection last season. This year she hit .267 with six doubles, a home run and 15 RBI.

Swanberg, a junior transfer from UC San Diego, proved to be a solid addition behind the plate in her first season at USD. Swanberg started 33 games behind the dish and hit .221 with two doubles, a home run and nine RBI on the year.

The Toreros also handed out their annual team awards at the end-of-the-year banquet on May 11. Coleman was named USD's Team MVP, while RF Lauren Tomey earned both the team's Offensive Player of the Year Award and Coaches Award. CF Dana Prelsnik earned the team's Defensive Player of the Year Award and RHP Jenny Lahitte was the surprise winner of the 12th Annual Home Run Trot Award for her "Austin Powers Harlem Shake" performance.

The Toreros finished the season with a 24-29 overall record and a 9-15 mark in PCSC play.

C	Megan Smith	  SR	Saint Mary's
1B	Amanda Robinson -#JR	Utah Valley
2B	Sterling Shuster  SO	Loyola Marymount
3B	Meghan Harman	  JR	Loyola Marymount
SS	J.C. Clayton -!	  SR	BYU
SS	Shay Fryer -!	  JR	CSU Bakersfield
OF	Gordy Bravo	  FR	BYU
OF	Karissa Veiga**	  JR	CSU Bakersfield
OF	Alexandra Shamo	  SR	BYU
UTL	Bailie Hicken	  SR	BYU
P-UTL	Katie Manuma	  JR	BYU
P	Sydney Gouveia	  FR	Loyola Marymount
P Cassidy Coleman	  JR	San Diego

SECOND TEAM POS. PLAYER YR. SCHOOL C Jamie North SO Utah Valley 1B Caitlin Rooney SO San Diego 2B Coco Tauali'i FR BYU 3B Madisen Robb JR BYU SS Krystin Jachim SR Utah Valley OF Brittany Sabatini JR Saint Mary's OF Kylee Brinkerhoff SR Utah Valley OF Hannah Montalban FR Loyola Marymount UTL Mary Grabowski FR San Diego P-UTL Amber Mills FR CSU Bakersfield P Tiffany Mills SR Utah Valley P Hannah Howell SR BYU

HONORABLE MENTION POS. PLAYER YR. SCHOOL C Charly Swanberg JR San Diego C Nicole Clowdus FR Loyola Marymount 1B Kelly Scribner JR Santa Clara 3B Chloe Kaneko SO San Diego OF Laura King SR CSU Bakersfield UTL Kelli Fox SO Utah Valley UTL Olivia Alvarez SR Loyola Marymount P Josi Summers SO Utah Valley P Kelsie Monroe SO CSU Bakersfield

*- Number of first team selections # - Unanimous selection. ! - Tie

Co-PLAYER OF THE YEAR: JC Clayton (SR, SS), BYU; Sterling Shuster (SO, 2B), Loyola Marymount PITCHER OF THE YEAR: Sydney Gouveia (FR), Loyola Marymount FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Gordy Bravo (OF), BYU COACH OF THE YEAR: Gordon Eakin, BYU

USD 2013 Team Awards Team MVP - Cassidy Coleman Offensive Player of the Year - Lauren Tomey Defensive Player of the Year - Dana Prelsnik Coaches Award (attitude, effort, heart) - Lauren Tomey 12th Annual Home Run Trot Award - Jenny Lahitte