PCSC Announces 2009 Commissioner's Honor Roll

USDTOREROSDOTCOM Nine Toreros earn PCSC Honor Roll recognition
Nine Toreros earn PCSC Honor Roll recognition

June 26, 2009

PORTLAND, Ore. - Nine student-athletes from the USD Softball team were named to the 2009 Pacific Coast Softball Conference Commissioner's Honor Roll, PCSC Commissioner Wendy Guthrie announced on Thursday. To be eligible for the honor roll, a student-athlete must have been eligible to participate during the 2009 season and recorded at least a 3.0 GPA during the 2008-09 academic year.

"I am extremely proud of our nine student-athletes named to the Commissioner's Honor Roll this year," head coach Melissa McElvain said. "These individuals worked extremely hard, both on and off the field this year, and this recognition is well deserved."

The following is a list of the 2009 PCSC Commissioner Honor Roll selections for the USD Toreros: Carey Casciola (JR, SS, 3.21, Undecided); Jennifer Ellenbeck (JR, RHP, 3.29, International Relations); Lindsey Fleet (SR, 1B, 3.04, Anthropology and Biology); Kristen Gensler (SO, UT, 3.26, Undeclared); Taryn Keenan (SO, C/OF, 3.56, Business); Alyssa Luna (JR, RHP, 3.27, Business Administration); Alyssa Schott (SO, OF, 3.21, Undeclared); Kaslin Tucker (SR, OF, 3.45, Psychology); Cathy Wineinger (FR, IF, 3.47, Undecided).



A total of 59 athletes were named to the list this season. Loyola Marymount and Santa Clara each placed a conference-high 13 players on the honor roll. PCSC Champion Portland State had 11 players named to the honor roll.