San Diego Places 7th In WAC Swimming Championship
USDTOREROS.COM USD Senior Ashley Swart swam to three first place finishes at the WAC Championships
USD Senior Ashley Swart swam to three first place finishes at the WAC Championships

Feb. 26, 2006

WAC Championship Final Results

SAN ANTONIO - Hawai`i captured its first Western Athletic Conference Swimming and Diving Championship. The Rainbow Wahine finished the meet with 775.5 points followed by Nevada with 727. Both teams had their highest point totals in a WAC Championship. Northern Arizona was third with 609.5, while San Jose State placed fourth with 524.5. Idaho finished fifth with 362.5 followed by New Mexico State (313) and San Diego (214). For the second-staight year, Hawai`i's Nicole Mackey earned WAC Swimmer of the Year honors, while QiongJie Huang won her second WAC Diver of the Year honor in three years. The Rainbow Wahine's head coach Victor Wales, in his first season, was named WAC Coach of the Year, while diving coach Mike Brown won his second Diving Coach of the Year honor. Nevada's Kim Kabesh was the WAC Freshman of the Year. In the first race of the night, Northern Arizona's Alexis Buckley captured the mile with a time of 16:27.12. Hawai`i's Nicole Mackey won her second individual gold medal, winning the 200 backstroke with a time of 1:58.86. She also finished first in the 100 backstroke on Friday. Northern Arizona's Shannon Packard won the silver, while Hawai`i's Jaclyn Rosen captured third. San Diego's Ashley Swart won her third gold of the meet in the 200 breastroke with a time of 2:18.41. The senior also won the 200 and 400 indivdual medleys. San Jose State's Brie Marhenke won her second individual medal with a win in the 100 freestyle after also winning the 50 freestyle. In the final individual swimming event, Hawai`i's Mia Broden won the 200 butterfly. The Rainbow Wahine had their third different diver win a gold with Rui Wong winning the platform diving. In the final event, Hawai`i won the 400 freestyle relay.

Individual Honors as voted upon by the WAC coaches Swimmer of the Year-Nicole Mackey, Jr., Hawai`i Diver of the Year-QiongJie Huang, Sr., Hawai`i Freshman of the Year-Kim Kabesh, Nevada Diving Coach of the Year-Mike Brown, Hawai`i Coach of the Year-Victor Wales, Hawai`i



Final Team Scores 1. Hawai`i 775.5 2. Nevada 727 3. Northern Arizona 609.5 4. San Jose State 524.5 5. Idaho 362.5 6. New Mexico State 313 7. San Diego 214

Video Thumbnail
Volleyball Tournament Preview

A preview of the USD Tournament
Video Thumbnail
Men's Soccer Season Opener
Previewing No. 16 Cal
Video Thumbnail
Training Camp Update
Coach Lindsey Recaps the First Two Weeks
Video Thumbnail
2015 WSOC Preview
A brief preview of the 2015 Toreros.

Video Thumbnail
The Will to Win
2015 Celebration of Excellence.

Video Thumbnail
Get to Know Kyle Holder
One of the top SS in the country.

Video Thumbnail
From Serbia to San Diego
Four stand-out student athletes hail from Serbia.

Video Thumbnail
Torero Profile: Lauren Schad
One of a few Native American female athletes in DI.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago

West Coast Conference USD
» «