Four Toreros earn WCC All-Academic honors

Juliette Coupez and Laura Claus

Juliette Coupez and Laura Claus

April 23, 2012

SAN DIEGO, Calif. - The University of San Diego women's tennis team placed four players on the West Coast Conference All-Academic team, announced on Monday. Senior Juliette Coupez (Lesquin, France), junior Laura Claus (Wiesbaden, Germany) and sophomore Anna Depenau (Geilenkirchen, Germany) were each named first-team all-academic, while junior Cara Brown (South Bend, Ind.) earned honorable mention recognition.

This was the third time Coupez has earned WCC All-Academic distinction, while Claus took home the honor for the second-straight year and Depenau garnered her first-career all-academic award.

At the conclusion of each athletic season, the WCC selects 12 individuals to the all-academic squad to mirror the all-conference men's tennis team. To be nominated, a student-athlete must maintain at least a 3.20 cumulative grade point average based on the most recently completed term at the time of nomination, be at least a sophomore in both academic and athletic standing, and prove to be a significant contributor to his team.

Name School Class GPA Major
Ashley Anderson LMU Senior 3.39 Economics
Laura Claus San Diego Junior 3.94 Business
Juliette Coupez San Diego Senior 3.82 Mechanical Engineering
Anna Depenau San Diego Sophomore 3.83 Business
Yurie Hashiguchi San Francisco Junior 3.88 Business Administration
Valeska Hoath Portland Junior 3.87 Organizational Communications
Jenny Jullien Saint Mary's Sophomore 3.23 Business Administration
Kelly Lamble Santa Clara Junior 3.85 Finance
Katie Le Santa Clara Sophomore 3.81 Computer Engineering
Megan Moore Pepperdine Sophomore 3.57 Pre-Business Administration
Megan Price BYU Senior 3.46 Exercise Science
Britta Stime Gonzaga Junior 3.74 International Relations/Spanish



Honorable Mention: Melinda Akerbrant, USF; Cara Brown, USD; Sabine Fuchs, POR; Sophie Lantta, GON; Maggie McGeorge, SCU; Alana McMahon, USF; Blair Reed, USF; Ali Walters, PEP; Kacie Wagner, SCU; Julia Wartenburger, USF; Kristina Zauere, GON